Affordable Jewellery in the UAE: What Each Price Buys
بقلم Pellington
We sell gold-plated jewellery at AED 79–199, so read this knowing we have an interest in one rung of the ladder looking good. The most useful thing here sits in the section on our own price band, and it is not flattering.
This piece walks up the UAE price ladder and describes, at each rung, what your money physically buys. Not which brand is best, not which tier you belong in. Just: at AED 40, what is that thing made of? At AED 140? At AED 900? And when a piece at that price fails, how does it fail?
Every price and policy below came from a brand's own published pages in July 2026. Where something is not published we say "not disclosed" rather than guessing, because absence is itself information.
Before the ladder: the one thing that explains all of it
Almost everything sold in the UAE under AED 500 is a base metal with a thin layer of gold on top. Under the US Federal Trade Commission's jewellery guides (the most widely referenced industry standard), a piece can be sold as "gold plated" on the strength of that layer's karat alone, with no meaningful minimum for how much gold is there. "Heavy gold electroplate" is the term reserved for a substantially thicker layer, set by a published minimum. The thinnest coating and the most generous one carry the same three words on the listing.
So two pieces with identical labels can differ enormously in the property that decides how long they last. Price is one of the few signals left, which is why walking the ladder is worth doing. Terminology in full in our gold-plated guide.
Under AED 50: the layer is the product
What you are buying: a brass, copper or zinc-alloy body with a gold-coloured coating at the thin end of what the FTC will let anyone call plating. Very few in this band publish a base metal at all.
What you get for it: the look, immediately, for the price of two coffees. For a costume piece worn to one event, that is rational.
The failure mode: it goes green or grey at the contact points first (inside the ring band, behind the pendant, at the clasp), then dulls overall. Brass and copper form dark oxides in humid, salty air, and a thin gold layer is porous, so corrosion research finds the metal underneath can corrode faster beneath it than with no gold at all. The gold seals nothing.
The lowest verified UAE price from a retailer that discloses its materials is Aurora Souq in Deira, from AED 50: 24k gold plated over copper or brass, stated openly. They tell you. Most of this band does not.
AED 50–100: real plating, thin terms
What you are buying: this is where 316L stainless steel starts appearing as a base metal. Endless Shine (UAE) sits at roughly AED 60–120 on 18k plated stainless steel. Jewelique (UAE) is AED 99, three layers. Yumeira (UAE) starts around AED 95 on 316L with triple-layer 18k PVD. Pandora's charms begin at AED 95, base metal not disclosed.
What you get for it: a step change in the substrate, not the gold. Stainless steel does not form the copper oxides brass does, and 316L contains molybdenum, which resists pitting from chlorides. Sweat, sea air and pool water are all chlorides. That is the biggest jump on the ladder, and it happens here, not higher up.
The failure mode: not the metal. The terms. Endless Shine publishes 7 days for returns; Jewelique 14 days but for items damaged on arrival, not change of mind; Yumeira 7 days and no warranty. If the plating lifts in month four, the question is not whether the piece was well made. It is whether anyone wrote down what happens next. In this band, mostly nobody has.
AED 100–200: where we sit, and what the prices above it are paying for
This is where we sit, at AED 79–199, so read the rest of this section knowing that. The base specification across this band is broadly common (18k gold plating on a stainless steel core), and any brand claiming its steel is categorically different owes you a grade. We publish ours: 316L, the grade containing molybdenum, which is what resists pitting from chlorides. Chlorides are what sweat, sea air and pool water all are.
That is worth stating because it is not the norm further up the ladder. At two to seven times these prices you will find 14k over brass, 18k over recycled sterling silver and brass, and 24k over copper (all copper-bearing, all prone to forming dark oxides in humid, salty air), plus two well-known names that do not publish a base metal at all. Our comparison of affordable UAE brands has the column by column.
So what is not in our price? A shopfront. A retail lease and the staff to run it. A distributor taking a margin on the way to you. An international marketing budget. We are a homegrown UAE brand selling direct, and our costs are lean because the business is built that way rather than because the pieces are. That is the whole of our fair-price rule: you are paying for the piece, not for the overhead behind it.
What the extra AED 50–100 actually buys is terms and disclosure. Whether the base metal grade is stated or only the word "steel" appears. Whether the return window is 7 days or 30, and covers change of mind or only damage on arrival. Whether a warranty exists in writing, what faults it names, whether exclusions are published too. Whether delivery is genuinely free or free above a threshold, which is a discount. AISHA's (Dubai) sits partly in this band at AED 100–460 on 925 sterling silver with some brass, 12-month warranty. That is a different material route to the same question.
The failure mode: disappointment with no route to fix it. The piece rarely falls apart. What goes wrong is that the finish dulls at eleven months and you find the warranty does not exist, does not cover finish, or requires posting the piece somewhere inconvenient. A paperwork failure, not a manufacturing one, and it characterises the band.
AED 200–500: brand, overhead, and often less disclosure
What you are buying: still plating over a base metal, but now also funding a cost structure: retail space, staff, international marketing, and in many cases a distributor's margin. Those are real costs and they are legitimately in the price. The question worth asking is what share of what you pay reaches the piece in your hand.
What their own published terms show: NOYA (Dubai) sits at AED 199–399 on "18k gold plated" with the base metal not disclosed, 7-day returns, earrings excluded, no warranty stated. Pandora's gold-plated line runs AED 245–1,395, UAE returns terms not clearly published. Ana Luisa (New York) starts around USD 50 on 14k over brass (a copper-bearing base) with a 2-year warranty and 30-day returns, though a return shipping fee is deducted from the refund.
Read those three together and you get the pattern nobody in the category advertises: paying more here does not reliably buy you better disclosure. Two of the three will not tell you what is under the gold, at two to seven times the price of a brand that publishes 316L on every product page. This is where the link between price and transparency breaks: a AED 299 piece with no stated base metal tells you less than a AED 99 piece naming its grade.
The failure mode: paying a materials premium you did not receive. If base metal and finish are both undisclosed, the extra AED 200 bought brand and overhead. That is legitimate, as long as you know that is what you are buying. More in how to spot quality jewellery online.
AED 500–1,500: the awkward middle
What you are buying: at the bottom of this band, still plated. Astrid & Miyu (London) hoops run roughly AED 500–580, 18k plated over recycled sterling silver and brass, finish detail not published, 28-day returns, 12-month warranty. Swarovski sits here on plated crystal rather than precious metal. Vermeil (a sterling silver base with at least 10k gold in a substantially thicker layer than ordinary plating) lives here too; Mejuri says its vermeil comfortably exceeds the industry minimum it cites, though it does not ship to the UAE.
At the top of this band, solid gold becomes possible. On the Dubai Jewellery Group reference rate for 24 July 2026 (18k at AED 373.00/g, 22k at AED 453.75/g), a 2g 18k ring is AED 746 in metal and lands around AED 845–900 with a making charge. A 3g 18k fine bracelet is roughly AED 1,270–1,350.
The failure mode: spending AED 900 on a plated piece when AED 900 would have bought gold you can sell back. That is the genuinely bad buy on this ladder, and the one we would most like you to avoid, at our own expense. We ran the arithmetic in is gold-plated jewellery worth it.
Above AED 1,500: you are buying gold, priced by weight
What you are buying: metal, plus labour. The rate is published and updates four times a day (once on Saturdays), and only the making charge is negotiable. Retailer margins on the metal are fixed under the Dubai Jewellery Group structure. The failure mode is overpaying on labour, or buying a design so heavy you never wear it. Neither is a materials problem. At this budget, where to buy gold jewellery in Dubai is the more useful read, and nothing we sell belongs in the conversation.
So how much should gold-plated jewellery cost?
A direct, numeric answer, using only prices published in July 2026.
| Price | What is realistic at that price |
| Under AED 50 | Coating over brass, copper or alloy. Base metal rarely disclosed. Costume lifespan. |
| AED 50–100 | 18k plating on stainless steel is achievable and sold here (AED 60–120, AED 95, AED 99 verified). Returns 7–14 days; warranties usually absent. |
| AED 100–200 | Same materials, plus published terms. The fair price for 18k PVD on disclosed 316L with a written warranty. |
| AED 200–500 | Design, weight and brand. Verified examples run AED 199–399 and AED 245–1,395. Disclosure does not reliably improve. |
| AED 500+ | Plated pieces exist (AED 500–580 verified for hoops) but solid 18k starts around AED 845–900 for 2 grams. |
The short version: AED 80–200 is the honest price for well-made 18k plating on 316L stainless steel with published returns and a written warranty. Below AED 50, the price is telling you the truth about the base metal. Above AED 400, you are paying for design, brand or retail overhead: all legitimate, none a materials upgrade unless a specification proves otherwise.
And one thing rarely said out loud: the gold in a plated layer is a vanishingly small quantity, and its metal value is a very small fraction of any of these prices. You never pay for gold content when you buy plated. You pay for the base metal, the process, the design, the terms.
Cheap versus inexpensive, and how to tell before you buy
These are not the same word, and the difference has nothing to do with brand prestige. Inexpensive means a modest price for something honestly described. Cheap means the price was reached by removing something you were not told about: usually the base metal, sometimes the quality of the finish.
The test is six months in a Gulf summer. Sweat, sea air, pool water and air-conditioning condensation are all chloride exposure, day after day. An inexpensive piece on 316L looks much the same in November as in May. A cheap piece on undisclosed brass shows it at the contact points first, then everywhere. How to tell which you have, before you spend:
- Look for the base metal, not the plating. Every listing says "18k gold plated"; that phrase costs nothing to write. What matters is the word after "on". "316L stainless steel" is a checkable claim. "Gold plated", "premium alloy" or nothing at all is your answer.
- Demand a grade, not a metal. "Stainless steel" is a family, not a specification. 316L is the grade containing molybdenum, which is what resists chloride pitting. A brand confident in its steel publishes the grade.
- Check whether the return window is change-of-mind or damage-only. They are presented identically and are completely different things. A 14-day damaged-on-arrival window is not a return policy in the sense you are reading it as.
- Read the warranty for what it names, not how long it runs. "Lifetime" with no detail tells you less than a stated 12 months naming tarnishing, plating lift and clasp failure with exclusions published.
- Check that it says it is plated at all. A piece arriving with nothing on it, or in its listing, disclosing that it is plated tells you how the seller thinks about disclosure generally.
- Notice who is making the biggest claim. In this tier the boldest durability language tends to come with the least disclosure. PAVOI, by contrast, states plainly that its plated line is not waterproof and is "likely to oxidize when exposed to water, sweat, perfumes, lotions." A brand telling you something inconvenient beats a superlative.
The rule underneath all of it: the absence of disclosure is the disclosure. Every brand knows its own base metal. Not publishing it is a decision, only ever made in one direction. No brand hides a 316L core.
One legal point applies at every rung. UAE consumer protection (Federal Law No. 15 of 2020, amended by Federal Decree-Law No. 5 of 2023) guarantees repair, replacement or a refund for defective goods. It sets no general change-of-mind window; those are voluntary. And it does not cover e-commerce businesses registered outside the UAE.
Where we sit, stated against our own ladder
AED 79–199. 18k PVD gold plating on 316L stainless steel: the grade published, not just the word steel. Waterproof and tarnish-free for everyday wear. 30-day returns on unworn pieces, a real change-of-mind window rather than a damage-only one, against a 7-day norm among UAE brands. A 12-month warranty covering tarnishing or discolouration, plating lift, and clasp or setting failure in normal wear, exclusions written out. Free next-day UAE delivery, no minimum.
What we do not do: we ship within the UAE only, we have no shop you can walk into, and we do not take earrings back, for hygiene. It is all on our brand facts page and in our FAQ.
The honest close: with AED 1,000 and a twenty-year horizon, buy lightweight 22k from a shop that displays the daily rate. With AED 150 and something you will wear on a Tuesday, that is what we make. Start with the pieces people buy most, or the rings if you are stacking. Buying for someone else, our gifts page is organised by occasion.
Related reading
- Best Affordable Gold Jewellery Brands in the UAE
- 18k Gold Plated vs Solid Gold: Which Is Right for You?
- Waterproof Jewellery in the UAE: What the Claim Means
- Jewellery Care 101
Prices, return windows and warranties were verified from each brand's own published pages in July 2026 and change without notice. Gold rates are the Dubai Jewellery Group reference rate for 24 July 2026 and change daily. We have no commercial relationship with any brand named here, and the bands above describe published prices, not a valuation. Spot something out of date, tell us.